Go Back   Shipping History > Miscellaneous/Other forum Issues > Computers and The Internet

Fatty Windows. Upgrade space.

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 14th July 2019, 12:00
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
Fatty Windows. Upgrade space.

I have just managed to get the latest upgrade to Windows 10 to squeeze itself onto my Tablet, mainly by deleting (hopefully to put back again) all MY stuff. I did get one chance before doing this to connect a device with 10 Gigbytes of space, it thought it could manage with that.

What is all this space doing? Cortana seems to be fixed, it won't completely go away, but I have un-installed anything else I can, mainly because it is just bloat. I want my computer to do things I want, not keep adding "fun" things that seem pointless. Could be me...

I remember there used to be competition to slim Windows down, the ambition was to get it on a 640K floppy. Couldn't get the logo on that now.
__________________
Buvez toujours, mourrez jamais.
Rabelais

Last edited by Farmer John; 14th July 2019 at 12:02.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th July 2019, 14:32
ChasD Abu Dhabi ChasD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Manchester
Posts: 22
Images: 26
Hiya, I have a small tablet that operates W10 ok though struggles a bit - or more than a bit - with some of the latest updates.
If it's any help, I padded out the memory with an add-in SD chip, that holds all the personal stuff, but most important thing I have found is getting shot of the build up of assorted garbage with regular - and especially just before an update - disc clean-ups and defrags, especially 'clean up system files'. Biggest problem is 'Old Windows Versions' which can take up 15-20 gigs just holding the old system you no longer need. Add to that all the update garbage and you can have a whole lotta memory bunged up doing not very much.
Agree there's a lot of nonsense in the system that may entertain the younger generation but not much use to anyone more 'normal'
Regards


Chas
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th July 2019, 15:26
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
I have a card with data on, I have set it as the source for some program files too, the rest of your comments on disc cleanups and so on is useful. Thanks.
__________________
Buvez toujours, mourrez jamais.
Rabelais
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th July 2019, 16:27
Engine Serang Europe Engine Serang is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Dublin,
Posts: 893
I'm afraid to, disc clean-ups and defrags, especially 'clean up system files' , in case I bugger things up and loose files & photos. Also am afraid to bring to computer shop in case the bill runs into hundreds. Am resigned to sitting behind a getting-slower Toshiba. Any pearls of wisdom?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th July 2019, 17:28
Farmer John's Avatar
Farmer John Farmer John is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
Plugin USB drives are cheap, put your photos on one as a copy. I don't connect it to my tablet. I don't really have any pearls, just some old Aniseed balls part sucked, they look the same.
__________________
Buvez toujours, mourrez jamais.
Rabelais
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th July 2019, 18:34
ChasD Abu Dhabi ChasD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Manchester
Posts: 22
Images: 26
If in doubt, back-up! On my little 8inch tablet, my main travelling companion - got me out of trouble more than once - presently on W10 v.1903 with no problems though some updates did need to be done using USB image.
Clean-ups not to be cautious about, seems to go fine, then follow up with a defrag. Depends how long since it was done but can be very slow. If your beast is getting a bit doddery it can often sort it out.
All my kit, main and portable now on v1903 with no probs.


ChasD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd October 2019, 20:27
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Can anyone tell me what the small bit on the end of the title box is. It is stopping me starting threads.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (18.4 KB, 19 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd October 2019, 23:39
Varley's Avatar
Varley Isle of Man Varley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Isle of Man, G.B.
Posts: 1,045
Sorry JW. Your copy and paste is mainly blacked out. If it wasn't maybe someone (else propapbly) might be able to help!
__________________
David V
Lord Finchley tried to mend the electric light
Himself. It stuck him dead and serve him right
It is the duty of the wealthy man
To give employment to the artisan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd October 2019, 08:48
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varley View Post
Sorry JW. Your copy and paste is mainly blacked out. If it wasn't maybe someone (else propapbly) might be able to help!
I am talking about the little square box on the end. It's plain to see. Try starting a new thread. you will see your title box is different. It also happens when I try to buy online. It appears when I cancel McAfee which is forcibly installed with Windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd October 2019, 08:59
Varley's Avatar
Varley Isle of Man Varley is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Isle of Man, G.B.
Posts: 1,045
Sorry JW.Your paste as it is displayed on mine is a mainly black 160 x 60 rectangle at the top LHS of screen.

There is a small additional black box at the end of the title page which I agree seems to have no mirror when I try starting a new thread.

I would suspect that McAfee uninstall was not completed somehow. In the absence of any other advice I would try installing again and then uninstalling.
__________________
David V
Lord Finchley tried to mend the electric light
Himself. It stuck him dead and serve him right
It is the duty of the wealthy man
To give employment to the artisan
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd October 2019, 10:18
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay United Kingdom BobClay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 958
Images: 50
First time I've heard of McAfee being forcibly installed with Windows 10, and I'm running several computers with 10, including this one just upgraded to Version 1903 build 18990.1. Defender is built into Windows 10, but not McAfee. It does sometimes install from various websites as the tickbox to stop that is often small and inconspicuous, but that's the site, not the OS.
I too am seeing blacked out boxes on your screen shot. It should look something like this:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot2.jpg (74.1 KB, 10 views)
__________________
"I say we take off, nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure."
Corporal Hicks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd October 2019, 11:41
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
First time I've heard of McAfee being forcibly installed with Windows 10, and I'm running several computers with 10, including this one just upgraded to Version 1903 build 18990.1. Defender is built into Windows 10, but not McAfee. It does sometimes install from various websites as the tickbox to stop that is often small and inconspicuous, but that's the site, not the OS.
I too am seeing blacked out boxes on your screen shot. It should look something like this:
My theme is BLACK. In your image the title box at the top is correct. My title box has a small appendage attached. It will not allow me to include an image of it in this post. The McAfee keeps being added every time I do a full recovery/install. I have deleted it three times after it prompts me to upgrade to premium and pay for it. What annoys me is I have to reset everything to my liking every time I do a reinstall/recovery. Windows Defender can't find the culprit nor can Malwarebytes that I installed last night. Glad for your interest and help.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd October 2019, 12:49
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustWin View Post
My theme is BLACK. In your image the title box at the top is correct. My title box has a small appendage attached. It will not allow me to include an image of it in this post. The McAfee keeps being added every time I do a full recovery/install. I have deleted it three times after it prompts me to upgrade to premium and pay for it. What annoys me is I have to reset everything to my liking every time I do a reinstall/recovery. Windows Defender can't find the culprit nor can Malwarebytes that I installed last night. Glad for your interest and help.
Can you see the appendage now ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (51.5 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 3rd October 2019, 13:07
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay United Kingdom BobClay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 958
Images: 50
Not sure what to say. Can you change your theme temporarily to give us a better view ? Are you getting this with different browsers ? What browser is that screenshot of ? When you get Windows how you like it take an image (you will need a separate drive for that, which can be internal or external.) The software for this is all built into Windows 10. That way you can still get back to your personalised version.
__________________
"I say we take off, nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure."
Corporal Hicks
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 3rd October 2019, 13:28
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
Not sure what to say. Can you change your theme temporarily to give us a better view ? Are you getting this with different browsers ? What browser is that screenshot of ? When you get Windows how you like it take an image (you will need a separate drive for that, which can be internal or external.) The software for this is all built into Windows 10. That way you can still get back to your personalised version.
Can't understand why you don't see the bit on the end of the long TITLE box. It only happens when I uninstall McAfee. I am going to do a recover/reinstall/reset or whatever you want to call it. I get the feeling they (Microsoft Edge) don't like me using (https://www.Google.co.uk/). Instead they want me to have a full screen of various topics in my face and not leave me in peace with my viewing and taking part in S/H. And the odd news page.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 3rd October 2019, 13:39
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
This is my Browser >
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (113.7 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 3rd October 2019, 13:54
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay United Kingdom BobClay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 958
Images: 50
Install and try another browser. Chrome, Firefox, Opera are probably the most popular. There are others. Seeing a small black square at one end of a slot isn't of much help.
__________________
"I say we take off, nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure."
Corporal Hicks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 3rd October 2019, 14:08
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
Install and try another browser. Chrome, Firefox, Opera are probably the most popular. There are others. Seeing a small black square at one end of a slot isn't of much help.
What happens is, when I click on 'Post New Thread' or 'Post Reply' and start to type in the box, the page shuts down and displays my desk top. It does it when I try to buy something online. When I start to type my details, it shuts down and displays my desk top. That's all I can ad.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 3rd October 2019, 14:15
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay United Kingdom BobClay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 958
Images: 50
OK, so try another browser. That sounds to me like the browser is crashing. If whatever is causing it is crashing all browsers, then you confirm the problem is general.
I use Edge also (I'm sort of obliged to.) But if anything quirky happens while I'm using the Internet then I do try another browser, just to see if it's general. You address the Internet via your browser, so .. when something peculiar happens, you have to start narrowing it down. Trying another browser might help.
__________________
"I say we take off, nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure."
Corporal Hicks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 3rd October 2019, 15:20
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
OK, so try another browser. That sounds to me like the browser is crashing. If whatever is causing it is crashing all browsers, then you confirm the problem is general.
I use Edge also (I'm sort of obliged to.) But if anything quirky happens while I'm using the Internet then I do try another browser, just to see if it's general. You address the Internet via your browser, so .. when something peculiar happens, you have to start narrowing it down. Trying another browser might help.
Will give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 3rd October 2019, 19:30
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Well I didn't change my browser. I had a look at some of my settings. When I looked at the themes I changed it. That solved the problem. I changed it back a couple of times and the problem returned. It doesn't make sense to me but it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 4th October 2019, 08:57
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay United Kingdom BobClay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 958
Images: 50
Glad to hear you fixed it
__________________
"I say we take off, nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure."
Corporal Hicks
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 4th October 2019, 11:11
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobClay View Post
Glad to hear you fixed it …
I am happy I found the cause. Wish I had tried it a month ago before I did two recovery/resets. Lost some of my stuff and had to go through all the rigmarole of new email and passwords. I had the black theme because the light themes make my eyes ache a bit. Never could stand bright light. I did try it because you mentioned themes.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 4th October 2019, 12:29
BobClay's Avatar
BobClay United Kingdom BobClay is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 958
Images: 50
Well I do take your point on bright screens. I'd much prefer a darker background to lessen eyestrain.

There is a dark mode available if you go to Settings, Personalisation and then Colours. But it doesn't seem to do that much.
__________________
"I say we take off, nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure."
Corporal Hicks
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 4th October 2019, 12:54
JustWin's Avatar
JustWin United Kingdom JustWin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hull
Posts: 1,118
I did change it in personalisation. #16 is how it was 'BLACK'. This is how it is now but I am getting used to it. Will leave it as it is. >
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (103.0 KB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 EOL date. erimus Computers and The Internet 4 26th January 2019 21:33
Windows V Linux billyboy Computers and The Internet 23 22nd July 2018 16:13
Windows 10 -Icons ChasD Computers and The Internet 5 6th February 2018 13:33
Windows 10, a cold caller in a box? Farmer John Computers and The Internet 28 13th October 2017 22:54
update keeps failing on windows 10 dick burrow Computers and The Internet 2 16th August 2017 12:34


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.