Go Back   Shipping History > Shipping Discussion > Mess Deck > The Engine Room

Landlubber questions.

Old 29th March 2019, 12:56

Location: Mundrabilla (haha), Melbourne really but I'd rather be in Narvik
Landlubber questions.

As an old Railwayman Landlubber can I ask a couple of (perhaps stupid) questions, of some of the engineers on SH, please?

Assuming a reciprocating steam engineroom:

How are the various speeds 'full', 'half' and 'slow' etc defined? Is it by RPM which presumably (?) gives a more or less set speed?

Am I correct in understanding that marine reciprocating steam engines do not have 'cut off' on the valve gear (as in a locomotive) but only ahead/astern? On this assumption is engine speed controlled only by the boiler steam throttle/regulator valve?

Again assuming, on the basis that there is no valve cut off, the lost efficiency is more or less made up by compounding?

I have some steam locomotive knowledge but know little (nothing actually!) about marine steam.

Any comments will be appreciated, please.

Regards
Geoff (YM)
Old 29th March 2019, 17:01

YM, its 40 years since I did my Chiefs and things are a bit hazy, will check.
Old 30th March 2019, 07:27

Quote:
Originally Posted by YM-Mundrabilla View Post
As an old Railwayman Landlubber can I ask a couple of (perhaps stupid) questions, of some of the engineers on SH, please?

How are the various speeds 'full', 'half' and 'slow' etc defined? Is it by RPM which presumably (?) gives a more or less set speed?

Am I correct in understanding that marine reciprocating steam engines do not have 'cut off' on the valve gear (as in a locomotive) but only ahead/astern? On this assumption is engine speed controlled only by the boiler steam throttle/regulator valve?

Again assuming, on the basis that there is no valve cut off, the lost efficiency is more or less made up by compounding?

I have some steam locomotive knowledge but know little (nothing actually!) about marine steam.