Go Back   Shipping History > Swinging The Lamp (Off Topic) > The Pig & Whistle

What did you do after the sea ?

Old 9th August 2017, 12:39
Administrator

What did you do after the sea ?

What jobs did you take after leaving the sea, I went into airline business the flying type not the type that pumps up tyres. I lived abroad a lot HK, Los Angeles, Boston, then returned to live in Sunny Buckinghamshire.

Over to you ...
Old 9th August 2017, 15:16

After I reluctantly left the sea I worked as a railway signalman for ten and a half years. I left there and got a job as an onshore gas and oil pipeline operator for a company owned 50/50 by Shell and BP. I retired from there after working for them for 23 years with a BP pension.
Old 9th August 2017, 16:06

I did a Government re-training scheme, when the ship I was in got laid up. This was the second company to lay up their ships underneath me. I have been a Registered Gas Engineer for over 30 years now. Still going.
Rob
Old 9th August 2017, 17:54

Estate agent (articled pupil)
Farmworker
Assistant Scientific officer (Experimental Farm)
Farmworker (getting arable experience and studying for "A" levels)
Student (HND Agriculture)
Farm Manager
Lecturer (Agriculture)
Lecturer (IT)
GIS technician (Geographical Information Systems)
Project Manager, Wetland Restoration Project (Stand in between two appointments)
Garden Centre (transplanting plugs)
GIS technician (Geographical Information Systems, back to finish the job)

And, so far. that's it. Still do voluntary work, mainly checking livestock.

Scratch me hard enough, there is a farmer in there, the sea had a hold but I didn't spend as much time on that.

It has been brilliant so far, never be rich but I enjoy learning new things.
Old 9th August 2017, 19:36

Technician at MOD Donnington

Encyclopaedia Salesman (utter failure at that)

BT pole climbing

The Cheltenham Mob

Network administrator/technician in a Devon Community College.

Hitman (but couldn't get any work )